World Trade Institute – Academic Partners

News from the SECO / WTI Academic Cooperation Project

Visiting Fellows: Dr. Herbert Kawadza

Dr. Herbert Kawadza, a lecturer from Mandela Institute at Witwatersrand University, Johannesburg, South Africa arrived in Bern in May on a visiting fellowship under the SECO-WTI Academic Partnership. His topic of research is “A comparative analysis of the enforcement of securities regulations in Switzerland and South Africa.”

Herbert Kawadza

Welcome to Bern! But I gather this will be a short visit?

Thank you so much for hosting me. Indeed this will turn out to be a short visit, just a month and as a result I have to make the most of it.

I intend to work hard and enjoy the scenery that Bern has to offer. I look forward to coming back for a longer stay, but it would also be an absolute pleasure to host colleagues from the WTI at our law school.

How did your fellowship come about? Can you tell us about your involvement with the WTI-SECO programme and what this has meant for you?

Well, I responded to a widely circulated advertisement at University of the Witwatersrand which called for applications for this year’s WTI-Mandela Institute Fellowship programme. I was fortunate to be chosen but I would hasten to say that despite the assurances of my colleague who had benefited from this exchange programme, I was a bit apprehensive about the trip.

I was under the impression that I would encounter a lot of barriers linked to languages spoken here. I have just been here a few days but it turns out that such worries were misplaced. The way the programme has been run has exceeded my expectations and these few days have been academically, socially and culturally enriching.

What do you hope to achieve during your time at the WTI?

I don’t have much time but I intend to undertake as much as possible. I am aware of the WTI’s well-resourced library, its strategic location at the economic hub of the globe and its linkages with a number of world class universities. My aim is to tap into those riches, and I’m sure this will not turn out to be one of those tot facienda parum factum (so much to do, so little done) cases!

Can you tell us something about your analysis of the enforcement of securities regulations in Switzerland and South Africa?

Yes that is one of the two issues I want to look at. That and the issue of transparency in the governance of financial institutions. In so far as they are aimed at minimising the risks manifested by recent global financial crises, these are topical issues and the subject of world-wide scholarly debate. I intend to join that arena and make a contribution in that regard. They are equally relevant for South Africa, which is in the process of reformulating its financial sector regulatory and enforcement policies in line with the global trend, especially in the G20 economies.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2014 by in Mandela_Institute_South_Africa, Uncategorized, WTI and tagged , .
