World Trade Institute – Academic Partners

News from the SECO / WTI Academic Cooperation Project

Peruvian international lawyer joins the PhD programme

Roberto Claros has joined the World Trade Institute as a PhD researcher within the project run by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) to support the development of Regional Competence Centres for Trade Law and Policy in Peru, South Africa and Vietnam.

He was previously granted a SECO scholarship to enrol in the 2011 Summer Academy at the WTI. The international lawyer obtained an LLB and an LLM in International Economic Law with mention summa cum laude from the Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú (PUCP) and undertook Master’s studies at the Institute d’études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po Paris). Before coming to the WTI he worked for the Peruvian government as a legal advisor.

Roberto Claros and family

Welcome back to Bern! How are you settling in?

Roberto Claros: It feels good to be back. I have met wonderful people here among the WTI staff.

Bern is a very quiet, relaxed city with plenty of parks and green areas, which I like very much because it is suitable for families.

When I arrived in Bern I tried to conclude the family reunification procedure as soon as I could, taking into account that my daughter at that time was only three months old.  My wife and child just arrived one week ago and I could not be happier! My family always inspires me to be a better person but also to do my best in my work.

What were you doing before you came to Bern?

For the past five years I’ve been working as a lawyer at the Legal Advisory Office of the Specialized Cabinet at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Peru. It was a very important professional experience enabling me to leap into international law issues.

Why did you decide to come to the WTI?

I always had a strong penchant for an interdisciplinary approach to international economic law issues, and the WTI is highly regarded for that. Of course I was particularly drawn to the opportunity to work on my doctoral thesis under the supervision of Professor Thomas Cottier and to meet the extraordinary renowned visiting faculty at WTI. I’m very grateful to SECO-WTI and the partnership with the PUCP.

What is the topic of your PhD?

My research at the WTI mainly focuses on the Latin American practice as to the drafting of national security and public order exceptions in international investment agreements. The purpose of this comparative analysis is to identify different approaches with regard to policy objective drafting of this kind of provisions and to assess how these differences affect the standards of review developed in investor-state dispute settlements.

What are your plans when your two years here are up?

I would like to go back to Peru and enrol the PUCP Master’s programme in international economic law in order to teach and share all that I have learned here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2014 by in PUCP_Peru, WTI and tagged , , .
